Getting My Sh&*t Together


Pardon my language but some words just don’t cut it when describing something.  So my co-writer is writing about how she gets things done where she is in the U.S.  I think some things are pretty similar.  I’m always trying to figure out ways to organize my life, my kids’ lives, our family’s life and just everything in general to make life smoother.  We just moved houses so our house is a bit chaotic at the moment, but as we unpack, we are trying to put things in places to be more organized.  I’m also trying to control the clutter.  I’m finding some great ideas on posts by Happy Hooligans.  Here’s one to give you some ideas to organize paper clutter.

I started off with purchasing a binder and a hole punch to organize the countless newsletters we get from 2 schools.  Next I collected all of the papers I already had and divided them into 2 piles.  One for my daughter and one for my son.  Then I put them in the binder and removed anything that was no longer needed.  My next thing is this, to organize all of the school work and artwork we get from the schools.  My challenge in HK is finding the boxes that will fit the hanging folders in them.  In Canada, I would head to Office Depot or Staples and it would be easy, but here in Hong Kong there is not the equivalent so the search continues!

Next on my wishlist is a label maker.  I want to use this to organize the home and also for making special gifts for loved ones.  My plan is to make some special sensitive skin balms, hot chocolate sets and just some other homemade ideas.

Another ongoing project is reducing consumption as much as possible.  We are constantly trying to encourage this with the kids, but it is sometimes hard as I myself am guilty of loving packaged foods like crisps but also some things just make life a little bit easier.  We’re also on a constant effort to purge things we don’t need.  Passing clothes on to others that can use them, fixing broken toys or disposing of them and trying to recycle items.  My husband for example has converted parts of an old wardrobe to build up one of his cabinets for his dj-ing hobby.  We’re also in need of a few furniture items so we’re going to head to a place called 2nd Chance Furniture where they resell furniture that is in still very good condition instead of buying new again.

Well, here goes.  I’m working on these few things to help me get my s%^t or “stuff” together.  Will keep you all updated as I get onto each thing!

 

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

