Hong Kong: Sorting Out Our Family Life


FullSizeRender-1

Our family just moved houses so we’ve been unpacking and reorganizing our new place.  So this is my immediate “sort out” at the moment.  It’s exciting to explore our new neighbourhood and our new space, but as my co-writer has written, it’s definitely a task to prioritize what comes first.  So my sorting out required figuring what comes first.  We are fortunate enough to have live-in help here so I was able to delegate some tasks to her while I was out in the days with the kids.  We also had movers so most boxes were put in their rooms first so everything has a place at the moment until we can get to them.

  1. Organize bedrooms.  Our first night in our house after the kids went to bed, I unpacked our bedroom.  I’ve only got a few more boxes left to unpack.  For the kids, we just set up their beds first and then the other stuff pushed to the side.  We had packed a suitcase that was prepared for a few days in case we couldn’t get to boxes right away.  The next day, my helper wonderfully sorted out their room and unpacked all of their clothes and some of their toys.  We’ll slowly get to organizing the rest of the house to make everyone’s life a bit smoother.
  2. Figuring out how to get everyone to school.  The next task involved figuring out timings of getting everyone to school.  My daughter takes a school bus so we knew where we needed to be.  For her first day, I drove her to the stop which was about 5 min, and then maybe another 5 to walk out to the stop.  Since that day, we found the route to walk to the stop and it’s almost the same amount of time so with the weather being nice, we’ve decided to walk in the mornings to get to her stop and this gives us some one on one time as well.  For my son, we take public transit and this location makes it much easier than our previous location so it’s been a big win for that daily routine.
  3. Daily routines.  We’ve moved to another little village so getting shopping done will be easier from here.  I can drive to one grocery store that’s pretty easy to get to with free parking, but also with the minibus, we can easily get to 2 or 3 wet markets where we can purchase fresh produce, meats and dry goods.
  4. Exploring our local village.  This is something we have still yet to do.  Our first week has been busy just resettling and getting everyone to school so I’m thinking we’ll set aside some time to do that tomorrow.
  5. The other stuff.  I know I didn’t address exactly what my cowriter wrote, but the other stuff is still kinda settling from the moving dust.  Trying to balance the time between everyone continues to be something I’m working on.  I try to really enjoy the time I have with each child one on one when I’m taking each to their school/school bus.  Then there’s the relationship with my husband bit which we try to connect in the evenings and also once in awhile we try to have a nice meal together.  And then there’s the me bit.  Right now, after my son’s drop off, I’ve been using the time to work on this blog and also get our daily tasks like grocery shopping done.  I’ve taking a few years off from work and still just doing a bit of freelance massage therapy.  I’ve decided that once my son is in primary school, I can focus a bit more on work and get back into it part time at least.

I think getting involved with our children’s schools is important but as my co-writer has addressed, it’s even more important to know when to say yes and when to say no.  My daughter’s school has a regular day I go in every second week for about 45 min and I can help in the classroom.  My son has an open door policy so I’m aiming to do once a month to stay and volunteer in his classroom which makes it less stressful to try to fit everything in.  For other things, I just try not to spread myself too thinly so that I don’t feel too pulled apart in a million directions and enjoy the lovely occasional sleep-ins I can get in the mornings now!

 

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hong Kong: Sorting Out Our Family Life

  1. What is a “wet” market?

  2. mommyhoodhk says:

    It’s a place where you can get your fresh produce and meat. The floor is very wet, so maybe that is where it gets it name from??

Leave a Reply

