Coffee and Laptops


FullSizeRender

So it’s a Tuesday morning and it’s pouring buckets of rain.  It’s been the same for 3 days now…kinda reminds me of the good ole days in Prince Rupert and Vancouver where I spent my childhood and then university life before making the trek to Asia the first time.  I’m sitting in a cozy coffee shop, except it isn’t that cozy as in Hong Kong when it rains, it doesn’t mean it’s cold outside.  It’s only slightly cooler, but still sweaty and humid out so when you’re inside anywhere, the air conditioner is usually blasting.  So now what to write?

Since I started Mutu, I’ve been pretty good about cutting down on my sugar intake.  So previously, I’d order a milky (soy milk) latte sometimes a flavoured one that is probably full of sugar.  Now, when I order, I usually order an Americano and I’ll add full cream and a few sprinkles of cinnamon and it smells and tastes pretty yum.  I don’t really miss my flavoured coffee drinks anymore.  And I’ve also been working on cooking and making more of our own foods.  My latest cooking and creating experiments include granola dust (thanks Jamie Oliver), elderberry extract for boosting immunity and helping with combating flu symptoms (thanks WellnessMama).  I’ve also been using Sophie Guidolin’s recipes for making our own salad dressings.  She even shows you how to make tomato sauce (ketchup), bbq sauce, etc.

Now that I’ve completed the 12 week program, the challenge is maintaining fitness.  I have to say this week has been a bit of a fail already.  The weather not being helpful but just running around with the kids has made it a bit more challenging to fit in any workouts.  I will say that MuTu is great though.  Learning about one’s body, fitness and eating better has all been positives from joining MuTu.  This not only helps me but it will help my whole family to see exercise and eating right as part of a happy life.

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

