Back to School: Here goes another year!


I can’t believe how quick the time flies by!  It’s that time of year again where we set an alarm;  pack school lunches and rush to catch school buses.  This year, my daughter, S started year 2 on Monday which is equivalent to grade 1 in Canada.  My son will start K2 which is like junior kindergarten in Canada.  He will start at a different school this fall so he can get a little more structure to prepare for when he needs to start primary next year.  Eek, my babies are growing up!  S is at school from 830-245 and A will be at school from 930-1230.  Full day school involves school lunches and some days are easier than others to decide what to pack for lunch.

My daughter won’t eat sandwiches so we have to pack hot lunches.  So far, we make some pasta with pesto sauce, meatballs, chicken soup and leftover lasagna.  This weekend, we will try a few new recipes.  I came across a couple posts with some lunchbox ideas so I will post the successful ones.  We made some Beef, Quinoa and Mushroom meatballs and you can find the recipe here.  They weren’t quite a hit on their own, but I was able to cook them and mix them up into a lasagna sauce.  The recipe makes loads so we cooked and froze some and left half raw so they can be easily cooked into a sauce.

Thankfully, my son doesn’t need lunch yet, but I think I need to create an box of recipes that work so I have an arsenal of food ideas.  I just purchased and downloaded the cookbooks by Sophie Guidolin.  Once I start tackling her ideas, I will post ones that work for us.

Hope everyone has a great year!

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just turned 5 (!) and a son who will soon be 4 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

