The Magic of Cold Brew Coffee


IMG_0895

What is a cold brewed coffee?   I wondered this after my friend served me some at her house.  You can read her awesome blog here.  She’s taught me a lot over the last couple years that we’ve been friends.  So I went to google and read about it but at first it seemed a bit overwhelming and labour intensive.

With summer in Hong Kong being so hot and humid though, a hot coffee can even be more sweat inducing so after a month of just thinking about it, another post came up on my facebook feed from Jamie Oliver so I checked it out and decided to finally give it a try.  I was in the shops yesterday and bought a fido jar to brew the coffee in.  The recipe and method seemed easy enough so I went for it.  Here’s what you need:

Coarse ground coffee (the coarser the easier to filter out later)

A glass container (I bought a 1.5 liter one)

Cold (filtered) water

The ratio is 1:8 (so I filled my measuring cup with coffee to 150mL) then added 8 x 150mL of cold water.  Then stirred the coffee in the water so that its well-mixed.  I closed the lid and then stuck in the fridge.  The method on Jamie Oliver’s site recommends 18-24 hours but I guess it depends how strong you want your coffee.

Once brewed, you need to pour over a strainer into a big bowl.  Put the grounds in a bowl (to add to our little garden as compost), then did that a few times.  I rinsed out the jar after the 3rd time and then put a nut bag into the jar to strain the rest of the grinds out of the coffee.  This is probably the most time consuming part and you might need an extra hand here to hold the strainer as you pour.  Since making this, my friend showed me where to buy a jug that has a built in filter so once I have one of those, I’ll share some pics with you!

For this first time, I made the coffee around noon yesterday and had it this morning with some coconut cream and ice around 8am today.  It was lovely.  Very smooth and no iced coffee acid-y taste.  Cold brewed coffee isn’t magic but it sure is a lovely beverage for those summery hot days!

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just turned 5 (!) and a son who will soon be 4 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

