Making a Healthy Snack: Cereal bars


FullSizeRender

Today, I tackled a new snack using Mango Menu’s recipe.  She has some great recipes!  For this Back to school recipe, click here.  I didn’t add the cherries as I know my kids will not eat them.  I combined the maple syrup with the honey I had in the cupboard.  I used dessicated coconut as I didn’t have plain shredded coconut.  I think if I were to make these for my daughter to take to school, I could substitute the peanut butter with almond butter, but I didn’t have any on hand and need her to taste test these ones first when she gets home from school.  My son helped me with these today by pressing the buttons on the food processor and pouring and mixing the ingredients together.  They’re pretty easy to make and didn’t take much time at all!

What you need:

1 cup of oats (I just used regular quick cooking oats)

½ cup shredded coconut

½ cup dried cherries (left these out)

¼ cup pitted dates (I used medjool dates)

1/3 cup maple syrup/honey or a combination

¼ cup peanut butter/sunbutter

Handful cacao nibs

Butter to grease the tray (just used baking paper to line the baking tray)

Method:

Blend your dates in the food processor until they form a paste.

Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl: dates, cherries, oats, coconut and cacao nibs.

Combine the honey/maple syrup and peanut butter in a small saucepan and warm it on the hob until it’s runny.

Fold the dry ingredients into the pan of honey/maple syrup and peanut butter, and mix well.

Spoon the whole mixture onto the baking tray and flatten it down with a spoon. It should be about 1cm high.

Refrigerate for an hour then cut into bars. They are soft and gooey so best kept in the fridge. If you like a crunchier cereal bar, bake them at 190c for 10-15 minutes, then cut into bars and store in an airtight container.

Makes around 10 bars.

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

