Hong Kong: Getting Fit and Staying Fit with Kids


This is a tough one.  It shouldn’t be but sometimes life seems to get in the way.  Every year for the last 3 years, I would sign up for a 10K race in November.  This meant I would need to start training a few months before that.  The summers are hot in Hong Kong so I would start training in the gym on the treadmill.  I would do 2-3 workouts to start.  Once it got cooler, I started running outside so that my muscles could get used to running on pavement.  Treadmill running is very different from road running.

I was able to start some pilates classes as well that were near to me when I lived in Tung Chung.  Magee is an awesome teacher!  Check out her classes.  If she’s not teaching, she has some other great instructors.  Of course, now we don’t live in Tung Chung anymore so finding classes nearer to me in Tai Po took me a little while as we settled into our life in the New Territories.

I did find a couple classes that I could take in the area.  We joined the Country Club of Hong Lok Yuen which is about a 15min drive from our house.  We have access to the pool, gym and restaurant facilities.  The classes that I have tried haven’t been too bad.  I’ve taken the Yoga and the Pilates classes so when I can, I do try to get to them.  Right now though, I really just need to get the mileage in so if I can, I do it on the treadmill or just get outside in my neighbourhood and run.  That’s the main thing I love about running is that you can get to it right away outside your door and you only need some good running shoes.

So, at the moment, I try my best to get my running in.  If I can, I would love to have my daughter join me one day so this year, I’ll sign her up for the Unicef family fun run and we can do the 3km together.  We already started doing some fitness together.  I get her on her bike and I either ride with her or chase her so I can get my runs in which makes it fun for both of us!

My challenge is after the race, how do I keep up with the workouts?  After my last race in November, I did take a bit of a break over the holidays, but managed to keep running here and there.  I signed up for a race while I visit Vancouver (Sun Run) so I would keep up the running through the winter and spring so I’ll have to really push myself to work out when it starts to get hot again.

What do you do to keep motivated?  What is your motivation for working out?  I really want to set a good example of this to my kids so that they will be lifelong fitness advocates and want to be fit and healthy.

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just turned 5 (!) and a son who will soon be 4 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

