Stepping Towards Me


Geoffrey said it best on Strangers with Candy: “I’m not pushing you away. I’m pulling me towards myself.”

I have been pursuing opportunities over the last two months and they are solely for my benefit. It feels foreign and selfish to me, but also necessary so that I can balance out a very intense five years of parenting. Maybe even that is mis-stating it. I’m not pulling away from my family or compensating for years of hands-on parenting. Rather, I see the value with clarity in saving time for my own passions.

I started blogging daily as more of a journal exercise. I am enjoying the reflection on the daily norm and also the bigger picture of my life as I approach a milestone birthday. Perhaps it is the birthday that is fueling this need to claim my own space, maybe it was simply just time. Regardless, it has been mostly good for my parenting.

My kids have been waking up and going to their playroom to engage in some wild and extensive creative play. They’re in that room for hours, giggling as they move characters around and squabbling over who gets the esteemed fairy they both want to play with. That little space from them gives me enough time to get entrenched in an activity, and if they come seeking my attention it very well may be off the market. This, I need to improve upon.

My son is at a very tender age of three-and-a-half. He self-weaned gradually over the last few months, but he still needs the physical assurance of having his parents close. He is throwing fewer tantrums, but does not tend to listen to my husband and I….to the point that my husband questioned whether he had any delays in social development. Nope, he just has his own agenda, Dear. My son is a happy and active little boy, so we get outdoors as often as possible to get fresh air, exercise, and a change of scenery. When we’re outside of the home my son has my undivided attention.

I’ve always measured my children’s development and growth. I’m just learning how to chart my own…

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

