Drawing In Friends


fairiesMy five-year-old was bubbling over before she even got off of the bus today. She told me about fairies and secrets and the girls that she sat with today at school. For some parents, this is a normal everyday occurrence. For me, it’s a rare gem that has my heart exploding with joy.

Her kindergarten classroom is full of play and delight, and Common Core standards. The standards outline what students are expected to learn in each grade level with the end product of preparing children for the workplace and college. That’s right, sweetheart. The days of play have come and gone. You will be doing an internship at the end of this school year to get some hands on work experience to make you a more productive citizen. I do appreciate that the standards are providing a framework for teachers to provide her generation with a theoretically egalitarian education, but it just feels like so much pressure for these creative little minds.

So I am reveling at my daughter who has built the space to create art to share, and bond with her friends. And special props to her teacher who acknowledges that standards aside, the goal of kindergarten is still to prepare children socially for the school experience.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Education, Play and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

