What Could A Parent Do In Four Years?


I’m up, it’s 6:30 am, and there’s free time to read my digital newspaper – for me, that’s the aggregate app Zite. A post from Time Management Ninja “What Could You Do In Four Years?” caught my eye, and I wager that the time-crunched fritzed out you might wanna give it a gander too. The essence is this: Great things can be built in four years.

If it doesn’t ring true for you, rewind your life by four years.

I was consumed with new motherhood. I quit my job so that I could raise this little year old dream-of-a-girl, but hit gravel fairly quickly as I realized how isolating and tough stay-at-home parenting truly is. I walked to my library every day and took out an equal number of parenting books and baby board books, and tried to get outdoors as much as possible. I had stepped back from my community of loving coworkers, colleagues, and clients and stepped into awkward attempts at friend-making at story times and playground visits. I ran the gamut of emotions through my grey winter days.

But some of those clumsy social follies actually yielded valuable new friendships. I learned that it was okay to plan play dates parents I wanted to spend time with. I was able to experience a pregnancy outside of the work place – and maybe even kick my heels up when my feet were swollen to Hobbit size. I started eating dinners with my family (which was something my work schedule never accommodated.) I initiated the restoration of a public park devoted to people in recovery with the help of an amazing crew of women in drug and alcohol treatment. I grew a bigger garden. I left that garden behind for an even bigger garden at a cohousing community. I took classes on sewing, canning, and Tai Chi to challenge my mind. I started a few blogs and this one actually stuck!

These were small changes that took great amounts of emotional energy and motivation to put into place. Together, they add up to a life less ordinary and ultimately more rewarding. And that’s just me. My one-year-old is now a brilliant and creative girl about to start Kindergarten. My dream of a second child is now a three-year-old joyful boy.

Four years wraps up a lot. Pain, health, joy, illness, new life, passings, and a whole bunch of regular moments in between. What has four years done for you?

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Support and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

