Baby Bags


Anna’s review of the Baby Mule diaper bag got me thinking about two things: one, my own transport of kid essentials; and two, how incredibly unsavvy I am in the field of kid products. Consider this a second-rate low-budget low-tech bag review aka “Carrying Kid Stuff for Mummies”.

I’ve tried several strategies to keep myself organized. I kept a sturdy grocery bag in the car stocked with kid stuff – toys, diapers, an extra pair of clothes – but I effectively filtered its presence out of my consciousness entirely. I found it while cleaning the car and it had diapers and clothes three sizes too small. My second attempt was to buy a stroller-specific bag – an older version of the Skip-Hop messenger bag. The weighty bag tipped the stroller over backwards every time I took my child out of the stroller, and like Anna I wasn’t partial to the feel of a messenger bag. Then I was given a Reisenthel Mother-Child tote. It is a sweet little idea to encourage your little one to hold the handle at his/her height, but somehow I just never got to the “OMG! Where has this bag been all my life?” moment. First, I don’t know if my first child ever grabbed the handles. I just gave it a test drive with my three-year-old and the handles were too high for his average-sized self.

t's kid bagsThe Reisenthel bag, however, was strong, spacious, and sturdy. So I grabbed up a handle-less version at a local thrift store for less than a dollar – perfect! It fits everything I need for a day out, my diaper stash on road trips, or all of my kids’ rain gear when I’m not using it day-to-day.

I’ve also realized that kids are awesome porters! My son and daughter both love the animal backpacks, so we switch off snack-packing and toy-toting duties between them. I often stuff the kitty bag with the pared-down needs (diaper, wipes, and a snack) to keep things simple. The owl pack gets stuffed with doo-dads they don’t play with often when we go on road trips – makes car trips that much easier. And we’re that much closer to getting out the front door and onto the next adventure…

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Diaper Bag, Product Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Bags

  1. mommyhoodhk says:

    That is a cute little bag that has the little sidehandles! My kids would find it a novelty for about 5 seconds though. Great for shopping though. We have lots of cloth bags in our house. I actually just sorted out our plastics and cloth bags. Our grocery stores charge here if you need a plastic bag so most of the time, I’m pretty good about bringing our own bags for shopping, but still manage to have tons of plastics. We’re reusing the small ones for stinky poo diapers and the big ones for trash bags or just for schlepping things around. I like having my own backpack though for the weekends so that everything is together. My 2 year old still doesn’t really carry his own bag for long and my 3 year old can do it for a short time. Every day stuff around the neighbourhood doesn’t usually require my new big bag, but on day trips or any trips, it’s an awesome accessory!

Leave a Reply

