Meeting a Princess


Meeting a Princess

S meets Cinderella

I’m still not clear on what my feelings are about princesses and whether they are a bad thing to have in my daughter’s life. I guess I don’t want to deprive her of them but also make sure it’s not the end all or be all of her life. I don’t think there is anything wrong with princesses as long as she is exposed to all kinds of females with different roles.

Disney is very close to our home so I do take her there as much as I can since it is something fun for me to do with her. I loved Disneyland as a kid so I want my kids to have that fun too.

What are your views on the princess craze of some young girls?

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just turned 5 (!) and a son who will soon be 4 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be.
Image | This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meeting a Princess

  1. Our little girls deserve wonder and enchantment in their lives. My daughter loves princesses too, and my credo is to make sure I read her stories of princesses or other magical female characters that do something other than try to snag a prince for a husband – but how many stories like that can you name? It’s tough! But as our girls age, I think the key is keeping discussions alive about gender roles.

    FYI. I just found a book that might be on the more progressive side! “The Best of Girls to the Rescue” by Bruce Lansky.

Leave a Reply

