Work that Equals Mommy “me” Time


So for the last year, I’ve been wrestling with the idea of working again.  However, since we moved further out of the city, it’s pretty difficult to think about the long commute into and out of town for work.  It’s 2 hours of my day and I didn’t feel that this was a great idea because in those 2 hours, I could be doing something great with the kids.  

The past few months though, I’ve been really itching to do something.  I decided that I should really try to do some part-time work.  I knew I didn’t want to go back to work full time and that it would be on my terms.  With my job though, it can be pretty mobile.  I’ve been a massage therapist now for 10 years and it’s something that’s great to do.  It’s a bit more challenging where I live because it isn’t regulated like it is in Canada.  Massage can cost almost nothing in some places, especially once you cross the border into Mainland China.  I’ve studied for 2 years so I just cannot compete with those prices and I know that with my training, my results after treatment are much longer lasting and valuable.

Most people I know here are on single incomes so the extra cash is sometimes not available.  The challenge for me was figuring out what to charge that would be fair to those that need it but also fair to my time.  I started putting the word out that I do massage and that I would offer an introductory price.  No one really was interested.  I was able to barter or services though which was really great and also it could also help me spread the word on my treatments.

After coming back from my Canada trip, I was referred a client and it’s been great to be working on something specific treatment wise and seeing some results!  I really hope to get a few more regular clients so that more and more people can benefit from my work and let me have some much needed me time that I feel is being used in a positive way.

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Time, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

