Travelling without Hubby


We were lucky enough recently to go on a trip to Canada.  My sister was receiving the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medallion so we wanted to be there for the presentation.  However, my husband could not make this trip so we had to go on our own.  Not completely, but it just is not the same.  This was our first trip without daddy….and I didn’t like it one bit.  My parents were there for the plane trip there and my dad came home with me and the kids, but it’s JUST NOT THE SAME!!!!  

I definitely recommend to do the overnight trip if possible.  Our flight was to depart at 8pm so we dressed the kids in the pjs and got them comfy.  We travelled with ipads, snacks, activity books and crayons.  After the meal was served, S was ready for sleep and she went to bed like it was normal, albeit a couple hours later than her usual bedtime.  Little A took a bit longer to settle, but then he went to went to sleep also.  This flight time allowed for me to get a little bit of rest too though so highly recommend a night flight.

Being in Vancouver again was great.  The jetlag was definitely challenging, but it was nice to be in Canada.  Seeing my extended family was wonderful.  My grandparents got to meet A for the first time.  He’s the 4th of 6 great grandchildren for them and and 7th on the way!  They really enjoyed meeting all my cousins and aunts and uncles and it was so wonderful to watch them.  Plus they loved the attention from all the older cousins and enjoyed playing with the younger ones.  I took the kids to Science World and the Vancouver Aquarium.  The weather was a bit wet, but we did have some really lovely days so that the kids could be outside.  It was also so much fun to shop there even if it was hard with the kids sometimes.  I give props to those single parents out there.  It was soooo hard not having my husband around for support.

The flight back was a bit more challenging as we departed at 1130am.  They were pretty good considering it being their awake time.  My dad was there for a little support, but not as helpful as a husband could be sometimes.  I really saw some of my limits and that it’s not ideal to go on a trip without your partner.

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Support. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travelling without Hubby

  1. Bravo! I was tentative about driving from Seattle to Vancouver alone over a year ago with the kids. We had some sticky moments, but I could stop and get us all out of the car. How did you calm yourself down in the crazy moments? I could write a book about that subject alone.

Leave a Reply

