A Belated Valentine to My Son


DSC_0140Dear Son,

I didn’t sit down with red construction paper and pink glitter this year. In lieu of my errant crafting, I am sending the web world a virtual valentine one day late…a short list of the things I love about your tiny self.

First, thank you for letting me get in that shower without a fuss. I know you are two and love all of my attention, but I really really needed five minutes of hydrotherapy yesterday. On that note, when you made your way into the bathroom I thank you for smiling as you looked up at my naked body. Instead of echoing all the self-conscious thoughts I recycle in my mind, you asked “Your milkies in bath?” and “I have bath too, Mom?”

Thank you for changing your tune from the shrill scream that was terrorizing your sister to a more cooperative tone. I saw you set up a picnic of bean bags and scarfs afterwards. I know siblings have their moments, but I see you hug and kiss and negotiate enough with your sister to know that you will work through the troubles you will have in the future.

Thank you for weathering the changes over the past couple years. You left your warm nest in my belly willingly and gracefully, even though there was a whole lot of craziness going on out here. You didn’t cry when we moved, but instead relished all the fun you’d have in all those cardboard boxes. You rolled onto your face, tripped as you toddled, and wobbled as you walked – Son, you make marvelous mistakes and keep moving forward in spite of them.

Now you are figuring out this language thing us big kids are using to communicate. You are figuring out when to say “I’m sorry” versus when to say “Please” and the fact that you say an unprompted “Thank you” when I clean your hands, give you a snack, or help you out warms my heart.

I appreciate your snuggles. I love the brief yet tender moment when you reach for my hand. I am thankful that I am learning more about my emotions by watching the zero-to-sixty nature of yours. I could write on and on about what sort of man I hope you grow up to be, but I would lose the beauty of appreciating the boy you are at this moment – a wild, unshorn dynamo that brings unabashed joy to this family.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

