Manic Mondays


My running training was going really well last week.  I did 5K in 32 minutes which is pretty good for me.  And then over the weekend, my throat felt a little sore and then my nose got congested and then BAM!  I felt the cold coming on.  I started with aconite (a homeopathic remedy) and also grapefruit seed extract.  Gargling with listerine also helps with the sore throat.  By monday, the congestion improved and the sore throat was pretty much gone, but a started to feel the cold drifting into my chest.

I tend to get a horrible chesty cough when I catch a cold.  Since moving to Hong Kong, I learned that I get bronchial irritation post viral.  I think part of the problem is the pollution that we have here.  We invested 6 months ago in some air purifiers.  It has helped, but when I catch a cold, I have to lean on inhalers to help open up the airways.  I would like to explore more natural ways to help this problem, maybe through homeopathy or naturopathy but without an income, right now, they are just luxuries that I cannot afford.

For now, I’ll just keep on my multivitamins, grapefruit seed extract and the homeopathy kit that I did get with my course and run as soon as the cough improves.  Oh and I’m trying this thing my mom suggested.  Steam an entire onion in a bowl for about 45 min and in the bowl will be the juice of the onion which you drink.  I did that twice today and it tastes ok…will see if there’s any improvement tonight when my cough is the worst.

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Monday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Manic Mondays

  1. Oh, thank you for opening up the conversation about possible cold remedies. First, a naturopathic friend reminded me that the symptoms are the “solution” – our body trying to remove the sickness out of the body. Here are some ways I use to lessen symptoms or speed up healing:

    1. Fever Cure: take as hot of a bath as you can stand (epsom salts for comfort, if you like) and thoroughly soak to warm up your body. Put on warm clothes when you get out of the tub including socks, a hat, or a hoodie and then climb into bed. This tricks your body into thinking that you have a fever, and if you can get the sleep is very helpful.

    2. Lemon-Cayenne-Garlic-Honey shot. I dice the garlic up very small and add a small amount of apple cider vinegar. ACV is a natural cure for so many different things!

    3. Water: straight up or in herbal tea.

    4. Olive oil in the ears. My daughter just had a very bad ear infection, and it was a natural mullein and garlic oil that we dropped in twice daily to bring down the redness. My mom used to use plain old olive oil.

    5. We try to keep up a regular immune-boosting routine of Vitamin D drops, folic acid drops, and a multi-vitamin. We forget all the time, but the kids seem pretty resilient to illnesses.

  2. mommyhoodhk says:

    My kids are doing much better than me too:) Will have to try that remedy with the apple cider vinegar. So how much of the other stuff and how big of a shot?

Leave a Reply

