Where Does Happy Come From?


IMG_0370

This sounds like a question my kids might have asked, but the truth is they don’t ask questions about the things they already intuitively know.

This is all me – raveling and unraveling my understanding about life. A child feels, connects, burns out, comes back together. I get stuck on different parts of the equation and need a shake to get back on track now and then.

My family and I were down at a park the other day when a little boy retrieved the pulley swing we were playing on. He didn’t want to use it; he just wanted to bring it back to us so he could see our kids go for another run. He had this sense of immediate joy just being engaged in our play. I found out that this boy is a foster child who has been living with a family who has been considering adopting him. He blew my assumption away that being in the foster care system would rob him of some basic ability to find happiness.   He is finding happiness in the present moment.

My son spills things constantly. He’s two-and-a-half. He spills juice, bowls of popcorn, and water out of the tub. It is a constant source of stress for me and I cave more often than I reach the highest heights of my patience. He cries sometimes when I burst at the seams. But within minutes, he giggles and jumps into my arms. He is finding happiness in forgiveness.

My daughter is working her way through reliance-independence dynamics. She wants full artistic license in the wardrobe department, but insists that I put her Velcro shoes on for her. I am already sensing the areas where as parents my husband and I are becoming slightly outmoded or obsolete in her life. Yet, she will randomly offer up the sweetest thanks to her Dad before dinner or hold my hand as she goes to sleep. She is finding happiness in gratitude.

Whenever I have a moment where I am not so clear about what this all means, it takes nothing more than watching a child to remind me.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Monday, Parenting, Philosophy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

