Stir Crazy


Today was a full day of errands and appointments. I started pulling down boxes from our storage that are going bye-bye this weekend. I got the kids dressed. Heck, I even got myself showered and dressed and out the door. Library books dropped off. Four packages  mailed out. And then we picked up my husband so we could cross town and take our daughter to a follow-up medical appointment. Then we rushed to my husband’s medical appointment. Then to a pharmacy to fill a prescription. Then back home to move enough boxes to fill our dining room five feet high. It was exhausting and all very exciting. See, this knockdown cold that my family has harbored has had the kids and I on lockdown for more than a month now. We were itching for a good day of being anywhere but the house.

I have prided myself on having a pretty strong immunity. But something happened this autumn – maybe it was the pursuit to purchase a home that set my husband and I in a zone of stress and anxiety that we weren’t physically prepared for. As soon as we were done with one virus, another took hold. The kids have these indomitable spirits, so they can have snot running down their faces and still be having the time of their lives. My husband and I are clinging to very low standards of decency – losing our patience much quicker and violating a few health codes (with our growing laundry mountains, snotty kleenexes tossed everywhere, and less showers than we should be having.) I can joke about feeling derelict, but I am genuinely not doing such a good job at avoiding cabin fever.

It is a clear reminder how important field trips, community explorations, and neighborhood walks are for my family’s mind as well as our emotional balance. The clearest analogy I can make about this situation is to my compost pile – keep it active and introduce new elements as needed so it doesn’t grow into a stinking mess. 

How do you stay sane throughout the winter season when you’re much more likely to be indoors?

  1. I give thanks for my tai chi practice. It is my sacred hour in the week, equally appreciated for the delightful conversations I have with other students as practicing the form itself.
  2. Sex. It took me a long time to understand that making love is a much more effective recalibrator than drugs, alcohol, or shopping on Amazon. Umm, this is probably why I have two summer babies.
  3. Reading. I have been pouring over cookbooks and edible perennial garden books, so I am needing a good fiction book to sink my teeth into. I love journeying through literature.

You’ll know I’m getting all three of the above when I start writing more posts!

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Health, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

