I did it!!!


So, I completed my first 10k run in 3 years after having 2 babies.  It felt really great.  I’m definitely a bit sore today but so glad I did what I set out to do.  When I signed up, I wasn’t sure if I would have much time to train, but it really worked out in the end.  As soon as my daughter pulled out on her bus to school, I could head out.  

A month before signing up, I was going to the gym intermittently to start exercising again.  So, when I signed up, I knew I’d be committed and it would push me to train a little more regularly.  My goal was to go for a run 2-3 times a week.  I did start out slow…running 1 min, then 2 min, then 3 min then 5 min and walking 1 min.  After about 2 weeks of 5 min running and 1 min walking I knew I was running out of time so I started doing 10min running and 1 min walking.  I knew that I really didn’t give myself the ideal time to train for a 10km properly but it was going to have to do.

I took arnica (a homeopathic remedy) after every run and I swear it helped in my recovery because I didn’t have much soreness.  I also met with a personal trainer who helped me with my running gait.  She will continue to help me which I will be very grateful for because I signed up for my second 10km run run in February!

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Monday, Time and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I did it!!!

  1. Do you find that you don’t have the same amount of time you had before being a parent? That’s obvious, right? When I was single, I procrastinated all the time. Now I don’t have the same amount of time available but I make things happen because I need to – for my sanity.

    This is so great that you set a goal and made it happen, Anna. What’s next after February’s 10k? Longer races?

Leave a Reply

