Nowhere to Run. Nowhere to Hide.


Anna and I set an intention last week to make Monday a day to share something inspiring – a sneak into how we are, as women, finding ourselves in the vastness of this parenting gig. But all I seem to be able to share right now is a nasty cold.

And the path here lead to me to all sorts of hypothetical blog posts: “Why parents who take their sick children to playgrounds are Evil“; “How many kids movies can you watch on sick days before going postal?”; and “Watching an alien horror flick with your husband after the kids go to bed will not improve either of your weakened immunities.”

We have been inside for five days now. The kids have bounced back incredibly. One is enjoying the wonderful health benefits of breast milk. Both have long nights of sleep. My husband got over it quick too; I joke that he could get more rest at work anyway than he could at home. And I’m here, with two little ones that seem hellbent on destroying everything in sight.

Our home is a sad sight. But I am taking great delight in this. It is giving me a new perspective on how much I do during the day when we are well. My kids are dressed. The toys are put away before new ones are pulled off the shelves. The bed is kind of made. And I lead lessons on whatever we have agreed to explore for the week.

It also confirms what a friend me, “You have to take care of yourself. If you don’t, the whole ship will go down.” We’ve been battling tight finances and the one thing I do outside of the home – tai chi class – was going to get cut. It was stressing me out. Where stress is, so too is dis-ease. And I started to sink.

But I have plenty of lifeboats around me. My tai chi instructor contacted me and offered me a “scholarship” to the next session. I have yet to redeem a gift of a massage from a talented healer friend. My neighbor is checking in on me. And my man and kids are on the mend. If I can get past this notion that I am the only person suffering in this snotty misery, then I am sure I will start to heal too.

I am signing off so I can go take a belated shower. Then I will dress the kids. Make the bed. And picture health.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Health, Monday, Parenting, Problems, Support and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nowhere to Run. Nowhere to Hide.

  1. NannySavvy says:

    I’d say, who cares if the kids are dressed and the beds are made sometimes? šŸ™‚ I have some nice memories of being a kid and being home with mum when she was sick, it felt kind of secrety and special to forget the normal routine for a little while.

    • Isn’t that the truth? I was loving the first few days of sweet kid movies, snuggling, making pots of tea and homemade soup. I think I am going to these daily rituals to save me from getting into a funk. But I think I am going to go reclaim the snuggling right now. Thanks!

  2. mommyhoodhk says:

    Hi, I don’t know what happened, but I forgot about MOnday and now it’s Wednesday in HK! So I have some catching up to do. Hubby is working late tonight so I will write a couple posts to catch up. Sorry about that. Hope you are feeling better Tash! I don’t mind a little mess sometimes, but we are fortunate to have a helper here in HK. I’ve been throwing out the barter for services so been getting pilates classes and a personal trainer come in tomorrow to help me tighten the gap in my abs.

Leave a Reply

