Sleep and lack of…


I think one of the most challenging things for me as a parent has been the sleep issue.  My older daughter was able to sleep train pretty easily and most of the time, falls asleep on her own and stays asleep on her own.  My younger one; however, has been a bit more challenging as he doesn’t have his own room so we found it a bit more difficult to do the sleep training, mostly because we didn’t let him cry too much so he wouldn’t wake up my older one.

Last night was a real test of my patience as I’ve already had a few nights of very disturbed sleep with a sick baby and then yesterday, both babies were feeling a bit ill.  Baby A was even more fussy than usually and really wanted some extra comfort with breastfeeding.  He was down to only needing one feed in the night but the last couple nights seemed to need constant comfort but then not being totally satisfied would get super frustrated and start crying and whining.  I didn’t know what else to do.  I tried the bottle and he still fussed.  He wouldn’t take the pacifier.  I am really not sure what was the problem.  I’m crossing my fingers that tonight he sleeps a little better because I’m not sure how much more fragmented sleep my body can take as I’m still recovering from the flu.

I just really hope that the sleepless nights get less and less as we go.  I’m really looking forward to that day where they both can sleep through the night.  I wouldn’t even mind the early wake ups if I could just have one full night of sleep!

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

