Kids Pics and Social Media


“In general I have decided to stop posting pictures on Facebook. Especially pictures of my kids. I have my privacy settings up to the max but I still am worried about my kids finding pictures later in life and not really being stoked with me.”

When I saw this post from a friend, I thought “Hey, I have pictures of his child, and I had been tempted to post them because it was simply easier than emailing them to him.” Now that I’m a parent, I have a different take on this. I don’t really feel I have had enough face-to-face conversations with friends and family about how we all feel about posting pictures of kids online.

I don’t post any pictures online unless I have permission from the parents. Like my friend quoted above, I have my privacy settings on the most stringent setting possible but there are ways around it. One friend recently grabbed a picture I had posted and posted it to her own account. It was a benign action, but she hadn’t consulted me about it beforehand and I don’t know who is on her friend list. I have another friend who tags pictures of her own child’s photo with all her friends’ names. So then her kid’s photograph is on my profile.

It also boils down to the fact that a mega-company has a legal claim to my personal photos. They can use my own photograph or one of my child that someone else posts to advertise to me. Others might eventually find ways of mining these pics. It’s an unpredictable technology at this point.

Do you post your kid’s pics online – on Facebook, on a blog, Flickr? Writing this post has made me slightly paranoid and I just removed some more kid pictures off of Facebook. I don’t think I really even use Flickr for much now that Dropbox makes file sharing so easy. And for this blog, we figured that we were more interested in making this about the content than the photography. Ha, but trust me when I write that all five kids written about on this blog are very cute!

Articles that provide more food for thought on this topic:

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Problems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kids Pics and Social Media

  1. About a year ago, I saw a friend’s kids on a FB ad. I immediately deleted as many of my kids’ pics as I could. It’s upsetting because I want to share my life. But my kids’ protection is more important!

    The same paranoia causes me to limit pics I post on my blog. It ends up feeling impersonal, but I don’t want to risk even more invasions of privacy.

    Thanks for posting about this issue!

    • Ugh on finding kid friends in the ads. It’s sad when a technology has you make the choice between protecting your child’s integrity and the convenience of communication that sites like Facebook afford. The going sentiment among many is that we don’t want to delete our account because it is such a convenient way to stay in touch with so many. Torn.

Leave a Reply

