Baking with my daughter :)


I’ve been going through a little baking phase.  I guess we’d taken a little break from baking but then all of a sudden last week, it all came back…we were lacking yummy smells coming from the oven!  We started off with an old favorite–banana chocolate muffins.  We made them in the mini cups for the little hands in our house.  Then we moved on to scones which I’d never attempted before.

I got a really super easy recipe from my sister.  Not sure where it came from, but it’s super easy.  I changed it a little by adding some craisins (dried cranberries) and white chocolate chips since I didn’t have enough blueberries. Here it is for all of you to try out:

Blueberry Scones

  1. 2 cups flour
  2. 3 tbsp sugar
  3. 1 tbsp baking powder
  4. 3/4 tsp salt
  5. 6 tbsp butter
  6. 1 and 1/2 cups blueberries (I used 1 cup of bb, a bit of craisins and white chocolate chips
  7. 1 tsp grated lemon zest
  8. 2 large eggs
  9. 2/8 cups cream

Cut butter into dry mix (no need to melt the butter, I just left it to get to room temperature so it was a bit easier to mix.  I also used a masher which seemed to work quite easily. Add blueberries; add grated lemon zest; put on surface and make a well.  Add eggs and cream; use fork to bring into dry mix. NEVER over mix!!!  This is pretty key.

Make into 6×6 square; cut into 3×3 squares and then into triangles.  Put them on baking tray and then brush each with cream.  Bake at 375F or 180C for 22 min.  Cool and serve.

My little girl helped me with putting the ingredients together and mixing them together.  I’m pretty sure she enjoyed herself.  I think now that she’s about 2.5 years old, it’s a lot of fun to have her help in the kitchen.  We made these scones again today and then in the afternoon, she helped prep the chocolate chip cookie dough.  If that recipe is successful, I will definitely share that one with you all!  Happy baking!

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just turned 5 (!) and a son who will soon be 4 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baking with my daughter :)

  1. I REALLY really want my husband and father-in-law to get the power tools out and make a “Learning Tower” or “Mother’s Helper” station that allows the littles to sit up at the counter with me. We have such limited counter space, and I would love for them to be helping me with cooking instead of conjuring up a distraction pre-mealtime.

  2. mommyhoodhk says:

    I wish we could fit one of those learning towers in the kitchen because both kids would fit in it. We use a stepladder which makes me a little nervous, but S really loves to help in the kitchen and I can’t say no because I do want to encourage it. Our counter space is super limited too so sometimes the baking moves out onto the dining room table.

Leave a Reply

