Coming of Age


Tonight was nothing short of a blessing of the highest order – to be part of a young woman’s Coming of Age celebration. She is a cohousing neighbor and espouses what I hope are typical traits for cohousing kids – thoughtfulness, affection, insight, compassion, and the ability to talk to adults.

Essentially, we shared a meal and then the women of our community went offsite to a peaceful natural area. We lined up according to age along the sides of a bridge and chanted affirmations as she walked in on her mother’s arm. We walked to another platform tying a ribbon around her arm as we shared a special wish we have for her. My daughter was asked to represent the East – one of four directions – and pay witness to this young woman’s shift in life.

It was so vital to experience this with my daughter. She saw that being a big girl is more than just sitting in a bigger chair and growing taller. It’s about cultivating friendships and relationships. It’s about acknowledging the sacred feminine – the changes of the body, the heart, the mind, and the soul – as we age, in the company of sisters.

As I put my daughter to bed, I told her that her birthday coming up is also going to be a pivotal one and that she is coming of age in a different way. She asked if we could have a special ceremony for her too. I love that she asked – and I will gladly oblige.

My daughter wants to be celebrated. Sometimes I get wrapped up in the management of daily living and I forget that now can be that moment – good or bad – that will have a lasting impact on her. Tonight gave me some valuable tips on how to celebrate her life in meaningful ways – on her birthday and every day.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Support and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming of Age

  1. mommyhoodhk says:

    That is so very cool Tash! I love that your daughter asked too!

Leave a Reply

