Motherhood…the fine balance


Last month, I was told by my helper that one of the moms in our apartment complex had attempted to commit suicide by jumping off her balcony.  I didn’t know her personally, but I did meet her children in the playground and had met her at the kindergarten she worked as a teacher.  At first, I was shocked, then I was sad for her children.  I don’t know much else that has happened except that she survived and was paralyzed.  I don’t know her story, but whatever it is, it is so sad that she couldn’t go to anyone for help or have an outlet that would have prevented her from doing the extreme.  

I’m so thankful that I have a huge support network.  I have fellow moms who I went through my pregnancy with; moms I met while trying to stay physically fit; moms that were friend before we became moms; friends and finally, family.  I know that if I’m feeling down, I have people to vent to or lean on which I’m so grateful for.

I think it’s really hard to be a mom and to keep everything in balance including your mental and physical well being can be a huge challenge.  All those things help us to be the best parent we can be.  Right now, my challenge is sleep…my 15 month old still isn’t sleeping through…I know we will get there some day.  I find that lack of sleep really shortens my fuse so my patience and tolerance is lacking.

What are some ways that you keep balanced?

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just is 7.5 (!) and a son who is 6 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be. I've also recently re-entered the workforce and back at my old clinic, Sutherland-Chan Centre on a part-time basis.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Support. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Motherhood…the fine balance

  1. OneMoreMom says:

    This story breaks my heart. I can’t even begin to imagine what it must have been like for that mother to drive jumping. We are so lucky to have to be supported, to be healthy, to be happy.

    I’m not sure what keeps me balanced, there’s lots of stress from baby, money, upcoming daycare, work, sleep, F*ing teething but deep down I just seem to know that everything is good and life finds it’s way of working out. Having lots of amazing people in my life seems to help.

Leave a Reply

