I’m Not Afraid of Being Fearful


Yesterday I was texting with Nonie about life and she typed, “So many posts on fear lately. Are you sure you’re okay.” Oops. I guess I had been on a run of the fear posts, eh?

Now immediately before starting this blog, I was perusing other WordPress blogs and I came across another blog from a mother that was ragging on how depressing and soul sucking the act of parenting is/was….in every post. The name of the blog even made me shrink down and cry. I don’t want to be that parent, nor do I think that I am. I want to be honest about the spectrum of parenting- it just so happens that it was much easier to access the darker shades of being mommy lately.

Soon after my son was born my midwife said, “The difference between women who have Post-Partum Depression and those who don’t is support.” Hmmm. And I can take a step back from the recent challenging run of parenting and count my blessings that I have parents on both sides that are supportive, friends who delight me, and neighbors who are engaged and invested in my family’s daily life.

I can be fearful, reflective, and mope-ish because I have a social net that will catch me if I start to fall into the depths of despair.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Not Afraid of Being Fearful

  1. Anjali says:

    My support system is thousands of miles away. Fortunately, they still manage to provide me with strength when I need it the most.

  2. mammanonie says:

    Ouch! Sounds like your midwife just dismissed moms with Postpartum depression as moms without a support network. What a bunch of BS!

    • Actually, maybe I am mis-paraphrasing her. She said that PPD is not found to the same degree in cultures that have a more supportive society for mothers and women in general. She wasn’t dismissing PPD or the seriousness of it…and it makes sense. If we all had a tribe/posse/group of women that we ate, slept, and drank with in addition to raising our children with then it would certainly help balance all the isolating parts of daily life. I have parent friends but I would still feel uncomfortable telling them face-to-face that I was feeling out of sorts, sad, odd, and blue.

      I have great respect for my midwife. She has been doing this for 30 years or so and has a deep connection to herself and the birthing process. I never felt like she was judging women with PPD.

Leave a Reply

