Evening Time


Henry David Thoreau said that “Night is certainly more novel and less profane than day.” Little ones are shutting down to hibernate for the evening and that brings…so many possibilities!

After the birth of my first child, I would wake up in the middle of the night and answer work emails. It felt like the only time I could summon a particular concentration which is pretty ludicrous since I’m not known for being a sharp tack at 3 a.m. But it became an act of desperation – this was a chance to connect with adult conversations that centered on everything and anything but diapers and growth percentiles.

I am no longer on the company clock, so the night feels like a lover that I appreciate for different reasons on different days. Sometimes he offers a respite from a crazy day – quiet, stillness, and hence the necessary prompts to sit, read, drink tea, and unwind. Sometimes he sits and talks to me about worldly things outside of my own four walls. Sometimes I find my real lover in the shadows, reminding ourselves that sex is not only an act of procreation.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

