The Joy of Pain


My intention was to use this week to write about Unexpected Joys. Then the unexpected part kicked in big time – with a major case of lower back pain. This hasn’t necessarily jived with parenting two under the age of four, but I was reminded that blogging about parenting (as with parenting) doesn’t have to abide or conform to structured rules. Sometime the art is in the lack of routine.

And there was joy in all if this. My husband took the morning off of work, fixed the kids breakfast, and took them to run errands and go to the park. By noon, he had returned and was making us lunch. I had napped away the a.m. By two, I had managed to get them down for a nap where we rested for a couple more hours. Now they’re in bed…and my back is already feeling stronger.

I actually felt some appreciation for the strain. I have put my body through the ringer and it has proven to be strong most of the time. Two births in two years. Breastfeeding for four years straight. An injury is the reminder to stop, take stock, be aware, and build up strength once again.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

