It’s Your Day, Mamas!


I have been posting over the week about some of the stresses and difficult times I have experienced as a parent. I, maybe like you, have had moments where I think I am literally going over the brink emotionally and mentally on this parenting adventure. As a wise friend once said, “Children bring out the best in people. And they bring everything out of you.”

I believe we signed up for this gig because we’re optimists. No matter how tough the day gets, we know we’re doing this for a reason. To see our disabled child walk. To hear our early learner sound out a word for the first time. To, despite what life throws at us, smile and be an active member of our community.

Now it’s time to look ahead to a new week. I found spending a week examining the tough parenting moments put my heart in a funk. I didn’t end up posting all the posts I started. So to balance things out, I am going to spend the next week focusing on the Unexpected Joys of Parenting.

Today is Mother’s Day.  This day’s beginnings date back to women calling for an improvement in our world – for health and for peace. I salute these pioneering women who called for change – we, too, have the power to change something in our world to make things better for our children. Help at your children’s school. Campaign for a reduction of toxics. If you can conceive it, you can achieve it!

One thing I have learned “on the job” is that we mothers are experts at adjusting the sails. If we didn’t jive with something from our own childhood, we can address that in the way that we live our own lives and in raising our children. They, in turn, will do the same one day. One of my first unexpected joys was how my relationship changed with my moms. We can relate on a different level now, and enjoy the parenting and grandparenting of my children.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

