Mat Leave in the Kong


Our topic this week is discussing maternity leaves in our respective countries.  I have to say there isn’t much of one in Hong Kong, but I guess we can’t complain too much since there is some.  I moved to Hong Kong in 2008 without any intentions of worrying about getting pregnant and then thinking about maternity benefits, but then it happened.  It was never discussed when I was negotiating my work contract so I never worried about it.  So, when I found myself pregnant, I needed to ask about what happens since in Hong Kong, at my job, I was considered an employee.  In Canada, as a massage therapist, I was self employed so I would have had to arrange my own maternity leave. 

I actually had no idea I was entitled to maternity benefits until everyone kept asking me about it so I was given some guidance to take a look at the labour policies in Hong Kong which can be found quite easily in the HK labour department website.  I was told by my employer that I wasn’t entitled to maternity leave because of the type of work I was doing, but I found out I was!  So I approached my employer again and asked for them to look into it.  It took them some time, but in the end, they found out that I was entitled to 10 weeks paid leave where the pay is about 75% of your daily wages.  Because my company was small, they requested that I take a little bit less and then I could take a bit longer leave which I agreed to.  I ended up taking about 4 months of leave which most was unpaid, but I was very happy to take the extra time to spend with my new baby.

When I returned to work, I decided I didn’t want to work full time anymore and went part time so that the next time I did get pregnant, which I did, I wouldn’t be entitled to the maternity benefits.  This was okay with me as I pretty much decided that I would take an indefinite leave of absence.

Fast forward to today where my second child is now 1 year old and my first just over 2.  I’m grateful that I can spend more time with my kids at home and not have to race back to work.  I’m jealous of my Canadian mama friends who can usually take a full year off before heading back to work.

About mommyhoodhk

I'm a mommy of 2, a daughter who just turned 5 (!) and a son who will soon be 4 (!). Living in Hong Kong and raising a little girl and a little boy married to a wonderful man who is supportive of all of my endeavors. Learning new things everyday and trying to be the best parent and wife I can be.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mat Leave in the Kong

  1. Good for you (and your friends) to do the sleuthing required to get your employer to comply. I realize that it must be difficult when valued employees leave for a chunk of time but the law is the law. Have any of our Canadian or American readers had difficulties with their bosses complying with Mat Leave laws?

Leave a Reply

