The Yell


Colette, my birthing class instructor, told me that the sacral or root chakra and the throat chakra are linked. When a laboring woman’s baby makes the brave journey outwards it is all too common to hear her let a burst of energy go in the form of a yell or moan. One sacred event trips this vocal release.

For me, it is one of the most memorable points of my labors. I was able to find calm strength in both of my labors – and that kept me relatively centered and somewhat quiet. However, when my children were born I felt like a firework was going off inside of me. Achievement. Oxytocin flood. Congratulations from my birth team. Hell yeah, I’m gonna yell now!

When my daughter I. was born, my husband and I had almost forgot what all this effort was going to yield us. Seriously, we were exhausted to the point of delirious. So when she rushed into the doctor’s hands I yelled “MY BABY. MY BABY. MY BABY!”

My son N’s birth was different. He came sooner than we expected, but I was more in control of what my labor was like. I went onto my hands and knees on our bed (two years into Obama’s presidency) and yelled, “I CAN DO THIS!” Once he was born into my husband’s hands, I yelled “I LOVE YOU!”

What did you say during your labors? And do women who have cesareans experience a similar release?

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Childbirth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Yell

  1. Pingback: Where was the Video Camera? Birth Story #2 | No Apologies Parenting

Leave a Reply

