Bite your tongue, Mama


There are three of us moms authoring on this blog, I promise. Anna and I have been writing posts since we launched a couple weeks ago, but Nonie has been….you guessed it, parenting.

I will admit that I got ahead of myself and started wondering if she regretted taking this blog project on. I tend to put a lot of energy into things when it lights my fire – and I am passionate about the issues surrounding parenting. But all my second guessing, speculating, and ruminations over what was going in Nonie’s mind and life started to remind me of the core reason for this blog. 

We, as parents, are going through this life-altering experience with different sets of circumstances, values, energy levels, responsibilities, support networks, cultural references, and plans. It is SO easy to look at another parent or family and leap to judge them for their choices – in fact, dare I say that it is our default in this day and age.

I am trying to refrain from knee-jerk judgments in all areas of my life, but it is a deep seeded pattern. I can sadly say that I have judged each and every pregnant or parenting friend at one point or another. I am finding that if I can give my judgments time to sit in my psyche – stew – then often details come out to give me a more informed view of a situation and I learn far more from this.

Reader, we won’t be offended if you judge us. We hope something sticks with you throughout the day. The more we share, the more we learn about the range of experiences in parenting. And in life.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

