How (not) to move when you’re pregnant


I am a fairly active person and was undoubtedly more so before I became pregnant. I walked to work every morning – down a hill, across a bridge, and into the office. Several months into my pregnancy, I figured out that I wasn’t moving the best way. I was killing my knees to and from work. And getting out of bed spurred this funny trick which I call “triangle belly”. I started to realize I didn’t know how to move with a changing body and different shape/weight.

No one told me how to get out of bed in the morning. My husband and I lived in a small apartment so our bed was pretty much wedged between our bedroom walls. We curled up and scooted out of bed in the morning from lack of being able to roll off the side. I learned closer to the end of my pregnancy that my “triangle belly” was actually the separation of my abdominal muscles – ack!

My Centering class had a visiting massage therapist come talk to us about pregnancy and movement. She told our group that a pregnant woman can sink into the ground in order to climb or descend hills safely. In other words, when she is coming down a hill she can (use her weight and gravity and) let her knees sink into the decline of the hill rather than bracing them stiffly to slow her down. Climbing up the hill, she can let gravity assist her once more and move with the hill rather than forcing her knees to push her up the hill. It sounds abstract, but once you are on a hill it starts to make sense.

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Health, Pregnancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

