Superwoman


I am a superhero. I don’t have a cape and during the most dynamic part of my assignment I couldn’t fit into the spandex outfit, but trust me, I’m a superhero.

One of my greatest strengths is unshakeable stubbornness. I refuse to believe that I automatically have a compromised immunity when I’m pregnant. I am not a liability to my insurance company. I am strong and focused and albeit I am past the prime age to bear children but I am in much better health than when I was twenty-two.

I don’t need power pellets or radioactive power sources. I believe in the natural power boosts – sleep, good nutrition, moderate exercise, happiness, and reduced stress. I can be disciplined in avoiding over-the-counter medications for common minor pains if I have the knowledge to treat myself in other ways.

I trust my body and I trust my strength. While building life, I take care of my sick husband, successfully fight off the germs, make dinner, and do the laundry. As fellow superhero Wolverine says, “I’m the best there is at what I do.”

About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Superwoman

  1. It is frustrating when you live in a country where a medical system categorizes you as having some sort of illness when you are pregnant. It plants the seed of fear in a woman’s mind and can throw her off of the pursuit of being the healthiest she’s ever been. Please don’t pathologize pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

