The Why.


When did I feel like I became a parent?

Rolling in the deep of daily parenting, I sometimes fail to ask myself these bigger questions. Please understand that I wrote what I believe to be a well crafted response to this question only to delete it and ask another question, Do others even care when I felt like I became a parent?

I have been seeing a thread of articles and blog posts questioning the role of parenting blogs themselves. I tend to serve as my own devil’s advocate to counter my brilliant brainstorms so it’s hard not to follow suit and wonder if this is all blurry chatter between breastfeedings and baths.

Then I think back to a couple Facebook posts that got my goat. How to raise your daughter. How do I train my child to do this or that. I was feeling the fire and yet didn’t necessarily have a tribe of parents around me to share these thoughts with. Taking a step back from this post and telling you about myself…

  • My name is Tasha and I am a 37-year-old mother of two – a 19-month-old boy and a three and a half year old daughter. I left a rewarding job in the non profit sector to be with them full time. My partner is extremely supportive and facilitated our recent move to a cohousing community where we have a tribe of parents to share these thoughts with.
As parents we are given all sorts of formulas with which to raise our children regardless of our parenting philosophies. Then we conveniently fall into the pigeon hole and potentially start silently judging parents with divergent ideas and opinions. I do it. All the time. I like and respect my neighbors, but I am not at the point where I feel comfortable questioning their parenting choices and building discussions around these topics. It occurred to me that I had two friends in different cities with different life dynamics that are raising their children in different ways. Perhaps this could be a testing ground, an experiment of sorts, to get the honest conversation going. I don’t want to pick a parent fight but I don’t want to complacently agree while my core is combusting.
I hope that this will teach me how to be more honest with others in my community. Friends. Family. Parents and non-parents alike. I have the utmost respect for my two blogging partners Anna and Nonie. We hope that some of what we write resonates with you or infuriates you. Bring your voice to the conversation and let’s crack this nut open with no apologies.
About unapologetictasha

I love the struggles and joys of things; what I learn about parenting, I learn about life. I am a stay-at-home vegan mom who has a strict regimen of daily in-house dance parties. My kids and I love art, nature, and books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Why.

  1. Pingback: The third finally arrives | No Apologies Parenting

Leave a Reply

